DAY 15: Oops!

Totally forgot that the reason I decided to try facon with you yesterday was that a friend of mine informed me it’s more damaging to eat bacon every day than to be a smoker. Shady ‘fact’ obvs – I’m sure one rasher versus 100 fags end-to-end is a different story. The actual fact is there are tonnes of websites and articles (and blogs, dear lord) all talking about this and my delicate little brain can’t work out what’s true.

What I think is a more relevant issue to us, the question I’ve been asked in person far more than ‘Can I smoke now I’m vegan?’ is ‘Are the meat substitutes actually any healthier, or are they indeed unhealthy?!’

Well, once again, hundreds of articles – dare you to google ’em – I can’t work out the full answer or few enough answers to fit in a pithy blog – instead,

KIT’S VEGANUARY ADVICE No.15: Enjoy your washing up.

I know – it’s exciting advice, I spoil you…So have you noticed how when you come to wash up now, there’s no thick white congealed fat on the pan or in the tray? Did it ever trouble you when you had to scrape the congealed white fat into the bin (before you could even begin the greasy-two-to-three-scrubs-and-rinses-before-it’s-close-to-clean routine) that the rest of that shit was inside you? I used to think about it every time, but then I’m secretly a bit afraid of death and perhaps you’re cooler than me, smoking and eating y’bacon all day.

Of course, the problem with fake meat is that it has artificial things in it, like binding agents for example, but then any ready meal (and most pre-prepped food) you ever eat will have a tonne of artificial things in it, and let us not begin to think about (well you can if you want but it makes me freak out) the fact that even our vegetables and fruit don’t seem to rot anymore I JUST WANNA WATCH MY PEACHES GROW OLD TOGETHER can’t talk about it – I give you this useful little link instead, for you to play with a tool! It gives you the breakdown of nutritional facts about whatever food you search for. Boom.

So I looked up Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference sausages, as well as Linda McCartney vegan sausages. The meat sausage has less salt than Linda’s non-meat ones (!!!) but then the meat sausage also has twice as many calories and four times the saturated fat. The meat sausage has 11g of protein versus Linda’s 8g, so more, but only 37% more while having 400% more saturated fat. I’d personally rather find my protein elsewhere, but that’s another nother blog (if you foolishly ignored my advice on the delicious mouldy looking hemp powder…)

G’night for now, lovers, and try not to stress too much about Linda McCartney sausages – or rather – if you find yourself stressing, just have a cigarette, it’s good for you. X

Leave a comment